Stubborn Streak

As I sit to write this morning, I find myself wondering what to say.  It’s been a rather uneventful week all around.  The next two weeks will be a wonderful whirlwind of activity on campus, and this week was mostly preparation.  I couldn’t get to the scale until yesterday.  (And for those on WW, you can go about a week-and-a-half between weigh-ins:-)  So, with a conference last weekend and prep. work, maintaining my weight was a good plan  I haven’t gotten to the gym and when you’re at a conference you don’t have as much say over what goes on your plate.  So, I fully anticipated staying the same on the scale.

Nope.

I lost two pounds!

What the $@&^?  Over the course of getting to goal a 2 pound week was HUGE!  Apparently, my body has a mind of its own.  Apparently, my stubborn streak is very much fiber in the fabric of my being.  Yet again I see I need to show up and do the footwork and release expectations.  Speaking of releasing expectations, yesterday my niece, Ophelia, turned one.  Today we celebrate making it a year.  I say celebrate making it a year because a year ago today, we were told she wouldn’t make it–maybe not the day.  Probably not the week.  And certainly not through the summer.  Well, here we ALL are a year later.  And what a year.  A year of letting go of expectations.  A year of recognizing the stubborn streak in me runs through my entire family.  A year that challenged me to (forgive the cliché) practice what I preach.  In addition to wishing Ophelia and family a happy birthday, I also want to say thank you.

Thank you for helping me to stop the hamster wheel.  Thank you for helping me to recognize that science is not my god.  Thank you for helping me claim where my lines and limits are.  Thank you for helping me truly take in that right and wrong are complex ideals certainly not cast in stone.  Gratitude.  Perhaps unusual to think about given the set of circumstances of the last year.  Certainly not something planned on.  Gratitude, peace, and acceptance–the gifts I would give today if only they were boxable.

Quotations for the week:

If the only prayer you said in your whole life was, “thank you,” that would suffice.  ~Meister Eckhar

Gratitude unlocks the fullness of life. It turns what we have into enough, and more. It turns denial into acceptance, chaos to order, confusion to clarity. It can turn a meal into a feast, a house into a home, a stranger into a friend. Gratitude makes sense of our past, brings peace for today, and creates a vision for tomorrow. –Melody Beattie

Leave a Reply

