The Best Laid Plans…

It’s been awhile since I’ve written.  I knew I’d be taking a couple of week hiatus with Leadership Academy.  (Sorry I didn’t post about the hiatus.)  And I had all intentions of writing last week.  And honestly last week was one of those weeks that reminded me that intentions, expectations, and plans are not always going to go the way I envision.  You would think that I would have learned this already.  No!  Seems to kick me in the rear fairly regularly.  It was a week where nothing went according to plan.  And that certainly includes my diet and exercise.

After two fun and food-filled weeks of Academy, I had about two days back with exercise, water, and normal sleep.  Then a deja vu experience and suddenly I found myself swirling again in the vortex of comfort food, little sleep, and bye-bye exercise.  I sound like a broken record, don’t I?  I’m not quite sure what it is that continues to convince me that taking 45 minutes a day to jog is selfish.  That taking the moments to prepare a healthy meal are self-indulgent.  But something seems to say this.  Or maybe it’s just that years and years of comforting myself with quick fixes isn’t an easy pattern to break.  Especially when life hands you a bowl of lemons.  And last week, well, I could have made lemonade and sold it at a stand.  But here I am.  Giving it a go yet again.  And preparing for a 4 day venture to the land of sweet tea, sausage gravy, and biscuits.

Quotations for the week:

It’s like deja-vu, all over again.~Yogi Berra

What has been is what will be, and what has been done is what will be done; there is nothing new under the sun.~Ecclesiates 1:9

 

One thought on “The Best Laid Plans…

Leave a Reply

