Smashing the Glass Slipper

Have you ever had one of those weeks?  You know.  Those weeks.  A week that isn’t so much gone wrong–just not how it was supposed to go.  Not how life was supposed to go.  And certainly nothing that any book or class could prepare you for.  That has been my last week-and-a-half.  It’s been a week of smashing the glass slipper.

Smashing the glass what?  The glass slipper.  You know that magical shoe that fits Cinderella and means that her life will turn out happily-ever-after.  That slipper.  I smashed mine last week.  And it has been the most liberating thing.  Now, you may be thinking, wait, haven’t you already done that?  Well, yes…and no.  I mean I am a lover of story on the page and the stage.  I grew up gulping novels and binging on movies in the theatre.  And when I wasn’t doing that I was on the stage.  I grew up in,  around, and through story, and I credit a large part of my gifts (and survival) on this over-indulgence of all things story.  So, you see even though I have smashed that slipper before, it often needs repeating.

Last week was a week to repeat.  A week to embrace my life and ministry with bare feet.  Standing on holy ground.  And realizing I wouldn’t choose it any other way.

Leave a Reply

