…or in my case on my shelf, my floor, my night stand, my kindle, my bag, my car…you get the idea…

1. STUDYING: What is your favorite book or series for sermon prep or study? Or have you moved from books to on-line tools for your personal study?

If you couldn’t guess from the above list, I like to sample a little bit of many things.  Sort of a Tapas Sermon Prep person, you could say.  I enjoy Feasting on the Word, New Interpreter’s Bible, and a variety of blogs at  Patheos.  I also love reading Jan Richardson’s meditations.

2. IN THE QUEUE: Do you have a queue of books you are longing to read or do you read in bits and pieces over several books at a time? What’s in the queue?

Oh my…I read several bits of many books at the same time.  Depends on what I’m in the mood for…currently reading Diana Butler Bass’s After Religion, I revisited Sara Miles Take This Bread this week.  I honestly am seeking a good novel.  I’ve been reading through the Clare Fergusson and Russ Van Alstyne mysteries.  I’d love some good novel suggestions.

Image3. FAVORITE OF ALL TIME: What’s one book that you have to have in your study? Is it professional, personal, fun or artistic?  

Well, one of my favorites of all time is Poisonwood Bible by Barabara Kingsolver.  I’ve been told that the book made me a reading snob.  I also have a collection of young adult literature that I absolutely love:  Speak, A Wrinkle in Time, The Harry Potter Series.  I also love the poetry anthology–Reflections on the Gift of a Watermelon Pickle.  I’m not good at picking just one.

4. KINDLE OR PRINT?

Both!  I don’t think I will ever fully depart from print.  I love the texture, smell, and weight of a book.  Books that I think I want to keep/dialogue with I purchase in print.  I read with a pen, underline things, fold down corners, and write in the margins.  Novels that I want to read for pleasure have become kindled as have some other resources for ministry.  If I read something and love it, I have been known to then purchase the print version.

5. DISCARDS:  Oh how funny is this…the last time I moved, I specifically downsized my library.  Specific titles are harder to remember.  I do remember getting rid of some seminary textbooks.  I also remember gifting folks with some novels or poetry that I thought would be meaningful.  There’s something about passing on a book.  To be honest, some of “my” books live at my sisters’ or my mom’s, and some of theirs live here.  (I come from a reading family).  I do believe I also got rid of the Flowers in the Attic series on the last move.  

And my home study/prayer room…

Image

4 thoughts on “

  1. Just browsing through blogs and found the meme on books. I’m a librarian, so can’t resist making suggestions. Hard to beat Poisonwood Bible, but I hope you have encountered Gilead, also there are a few similarities in The State of Wonder. If you like poetry at all try Out of the Dust by Karen Hesse.

    • Thank you Patty! I have picked up Gilead at the book store several times and hadn’t actually purchased it. I think that might be the perfect “Frankenstorm reading.” Thank you for the suggestions!

Leave a Reply

