Ponderings on the Parable of the Prodigal Son

The tension of being older brothers

And younger brothers:

Born of the same parents

Worshiping the same God–

God our holy Parent–

Who extends equal grace

Equal love

To both brothers.

Some days I struggle to believe

God’s love and grace are abundant.

My ego wants to earn more

or to be different

I yearn to be better than–

Over and against–

A blue ribbon

Trophy winning

Child of God.

My heart reminds me we are all God’s beloveds.

Each with a place

Each with value

Each uniquely equal.

Uniquely equal–

My mind debates

itself

while my heart knows

I can never

Truly comprehend.

Leave a Reply

