Friday Five Adaptation: Cooking Therapy

Image

Food is always a touchy subject for me.  I love it.  In many respects, food is my first love.  Or perhaps not so much love as compulsion.  My addiction of choice, if you will.  I think I have felt about food the way I hear alcoholics talk about booze.  It has kept me comfort when no one else was around.  I could summon courage with a swallow or stifle an emotion with a bite.  Growing up, I  smuggled food to eat in the secret (turns out not so secret) of my bedroom.  Needless to say, I am not someone who has had the healthiest relationship with food.  From binging to chronic dieting, food has been something I have spent time obsessing about.  

This could make working a Cafe a unique challenge.  Ironically, as I grow both in age and faith, I’ve discovered the better I am at speaking up and out for myself, the less power food seems to have over me.  In many respects, what I’ve discovered over the last six weeks is the creativity, joy, and art of cooking.  This love is not about the food but about the process of creating something with food.  I can loose myself in a recipe the same way I can in a run.  I can get inspired by an ingredient the same way I can in writing.  Cooking has become a kind of art therapy.  Therapy that is a great way to celebrate a Friday evening.  

Here’s a quick look at some new “experiments”:

Image

  Sautéed Butternut Squash and Mushrooms with Pumpkin Gnocchi in a Butter Sage Sauce

 

 

 

 

 

A   New Twist of Thanksgiving Stuffing:  Kale Stuffing

Image

Leave a Reply

