The Gospel Through U2

I heard Gabriel singing today.  Half-way through my work-out, U2 began to play.  As Bono sang, I heard Gabriel waking me up, shaking me up.  

Tough, you think you’ve got the stuff
You’re telling me and anyone
You’re hard enough

You don’t have to put up a fight
You don’t have to always be right
Let me take some of the punches
For you tonight

Listen to me now
I need to let you know
You don’t have to go it alone

A song I’ve heard countless times broke through my malaise.  In the middle of Planet Fitness, my eyes welled up.  My heart cracked open.  Suddenly my workout became meditation.  Without even realizing it, the last month, I have somehow started to slip back into feeling like it is me against the world.  The wilderness has felt so absent of God.  So barren.  So dry.  But today, the drought ended with my tears.  That’s right.  I don’t have to put up a fight/ I don’t have to always be right…I don’t have to go it alone.  Not only do I not have to go it alone; I am not alone.  I am as alone as I choose to be.  With wandering in the wilderness, with churches closing, with waiting for Emmanuel, none of us is alone.  Like Zachariah, I stand speechless.

Leave a Reply

