Snowy Tuesday Morning with John the Baptist

It’s a snowy Tuesday morning.

I want to nestle next to the tree

with a fresh cup of coffee

and this month’s Real Simple Magazine.

Instead I pour over the passages of this week’s lectionary.

Sometimes I wish there were Hallmark movie stories in the Bible.

Instead I sit with the John the Baptist.

John who reminds me what it is to be a disciple.

John who challenges me to not just preach my faith but practice it.

John who asks the same question that I often wonder:

Are you the one we’ve been waiting for?

Leave a Reply

