Will We Burn in Heaven Like We Do Down Here?

I just got home from a long shift at the Cafe.  I opened at 6:45 this morning.  Traditionally, this means my shift ends between 1:00 and 2:00.  However, today I was responsible for the “Wednesday Night Dinner” and needed to be back at the Cafe at 4:00 to finishing prepping and serving dinner.  Needless to say, I was not expecting to have a “God moment” on my drive home from work.  I was mostly expecting how good it would feel to take off my shoes and sit on the sofa next to the Christmas tree.

But I did have a “God moment.”

WXPN was still doing Kids Korner, NPR didn’t have a story I wanted to listen to, and Christmas–well I just listened to that all day at the Cafe.  So I pushed the Sarah McLachlan CD sitting in the drive in.  As she started to sing “Witness” I could hear John the Baptist.

Make me a witness
Take me out
Out of darkness
Out of doubt

I could hear him in his prison cell.  Praying.  Wondering.  Doubting.  

I could almost hear him singing along with Sarah:  

Will we burn in heaven
Like we do down here
Will the change come
While we’re waiting
Everyone is waiting

Everyone is waiting.  From sitting with John the Baptist all week, I can’t help but wonder, if part of our wait is because we don’t recognize what is already here.

 

Leave a Reply

