Cranky Winter Confession

Image

God of long, dark nights,

I confess that my mood has been like the ground.

Cold, hard, and brittle.

I  can so easily snap at one of my beloveds

like sound of ice crunching beneath my feet.

These frigid days I long to burrow beneath the covers

repeating a mantra learned long ago:

don’t think

don’t feel

don’t share.

Then I notice a snippet of sun and blue sky

as if to remind me

that You are there and so much bigger than I can conceive.

May I remember that warmth comes from connection

and that the sun is always present

no matter how many clouds blanket the sky.

Amen.

Leave a Reply

